Home / Welcoming Communities

Welcoming Communities

The Society of the Sacred Heart oversees five communities within the United States, each offering ministry and retreat programs for young adults.

Sophia House, Berkley, California
Duchesne House, New Orleans, Louisiana
Kearny Street Community, Washington DC
Rebecca House, White Plains, New York
Heart of Oak Community, Newton, Massachusetts

What all welcoming communities have in common:

  • Intentional, regular programing for young adults
  • A commitment to justice and spiritual growth
  • A space where young adults are welcomed for meals, conversation and prayer

Welcoming communities differ with regard to:

  • Overnight housing
  • Volunteer work
  • Frequency and types of programs